Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This sand struck catastrophe

Where we wash ashore,

Ensnared in seaweed,

Lying, stricken, broken

Litter amongst this

Cornucopia of debris.

 

Disaster struck by cannon fire,

That ripped our home apart,

left us wrecked, torn from kin,

Salt water filling our hearts

 

So far from the lands we left,

Bargaining with the waves

For our meagre lives.

Our saviour an oar,

Cast aside in the chaos

For us to cling to,

As we were cast asunder.

 

Flames hit the gunpowder stores,

roaring as our world shattered,

Thunder and brimstone

Engulfed us with our enemy,

Two great wooden matriarchs,

Crimson winds hitting the sails,

Blew each other apart.

 

Quiet, now,

But for the lapping of the waves

As they approach and flee,

No seafarers sway,

Shore unsteady still.

 

We watch the sea,

It breathes

In rippling song,

Born of salt

And sea weed,

Blood torn by barnacles,

Washed away,

To mingle with the sands

Of beaches far

From home,

Under distant stars.

 

Image credit – Ludolf Bakhuizen, Dutch warships in trouble off Gibraltar, a real incident of 1690

 

I’m putting all this up for freeeeeee, for the love of writing and your enjoyment, and if you would like to use it for your own purposes that would be awesome. However, it’s my writing, and I must ask you to ask me first, and credit me (obviously). Also, if you do I’d really love to see/hear/watch it!

 

If you’d like to support me, on a monthly basis, then i’d love you forever, and feel free to sign up for my patreon here – i’ll link the blog to here whenever I post something new, as well as a few extra snippets just for patrons (so extracts of WIP larger projects etc)

 

https://www.patreon.com/lonpops .

 

If you would also like to help me keep putting things up for free, and support my writing but would rather not do monthly donations, my paypal is:

 

paypal.me/henrythorpe

 

Share, like, comment, critique, spread the word(s) and thankyou for visiting my page, you’re all wonderful.

 

I’ve also done recordings of several of my poems and stories, which are available on soundcloud here

 

If you’d like to give my page a like on facebook it’s here – https://www.facebook.com/HenryArthurThorpe/

 

Follow me on twitter (i’m afraid I don’t post much) – @Lonpops

 

Or drop me an email at hathorpe506@gmail.com

 

Lots of love,

Henry

xx

 

